Victoria de los Angeles quote regarding Spanish Song

Standard

Catalan soprano, Victoria de los Angeles

“It is rare when in my recital programs I do not include music from Spain.  In the constant motion that is my professional life, our songs have gifted me with the best company…I owe them many fond memories as well as my biggest triumphs.

The Spanish song is a way to show us the many landscapes of Spain as well as a a path to evoke our country in all it’s beauty.  I salute with pleasure a book that can be, at the same time, an occasion to maintain these happy impressions as well as guide for these song to find their ideal moment.”

Prologue from “Lieder y Canciones de Espana, 1900-1963” by Antonio Fernandez-Cid, published by the Fundacion Juan March, 1963 (Madrid).

 

 

Leave a Reply

